home page Contact Us


Club Information

President's Message
About Us
Our History
Officers & Directors
Club Members
Paul Harris Fellows
Board Meetings
Board Meeting Minutes
Club Bylaws
Meeting Programs
Meeting Makeups

Join Rotary

Join our Club

Fund Raisers

Back Country Challenge
Rotary Foundation Events
Brew on the Bay

Public Information

Latest News
Press Releases
Photo Album
Scholarship Programs
Special Events

Rotary Information

About Rotary
Rotary Foundation
Four Way Test
Four Avenues of Service
Becoming A Member
Useful Links
Contact Us
Site Map

For members...

Administration Login
About Us - Our History
click to print this pageprint this page

Club History
January 24, 1990 was the first meeting as provisional club, sponsored by the Rotary Club of Upper Keys of which J. Allison DeFoor II was President. The meeting was held in Key Largo at the Holiday Inn.


March 3, 1990 - Formal application for Charter as Rotary Club of Key Largo was mailed to Rotary International.


April 4, 1990 - First breakfast meeting at Sheraton Key Largo Resort (Currently the Key Largo Hilton).


April 9, 1990 - Our club was admitted as Rotary Club of Key Largo by Rotary International.

We began with 66 charter members. Current charter members are Wm. A. (Bill) Andersen, Robert (Bob) Cullin, Gretchen Holland and Spencer Slate.


June 19, 1990 was our charter banquet. Our 1st President was John Duffy, the President of Rotary International for 1989-1990 was Hugh M. Archer and the Governor of District 6990 for 1989-1990 was Garth R. Parker.


The Rotary Club of Key Largo has met at the Key Largo Hilton for 21 of its 25 year existence. 


Past Club Presidents Include:
1990-1991 John Duffy
1991-1992 Charles Goss
1992-1993 Bette Brown-Herlth
1993-1994 Mark Otto
1994-1995 Dale Wolgast
1995-1996 Barbara Whitla
1996-1997 Mike Lannon
1996-1998 Bill Markey (Bill Markey stepped up when Mike Lannon moved mid-term)
1998-1999 Dan Taylor
1999-2000 Bill Andersen
2000-2001 Frank Kelly
2001-2002 Cris Beaty
2002-2003 Scott Newberry
2003-2004 Jim Turner
2004-2005 Laura L'Heureux
2005-2006 Paul Messina
2006-2007 Scott Newberry

2007-2008 Marsha DeClue
2008-2009 Susan Recarey

2009-2010 John Stuart

2010-2011 Sara Hamilton

2011-2012 Debbie McAfee

2012-2013 Katrina Lavene

2013-2014 Jennifer Miller

2014-2015 Nancy Alverez

2015-2016 Cris Beaty

2016-2017 Diann Barber